St. Louis False Alarm Service Fees
- 1st False Alarm: free
- 2nd False Alarm: $25
- 3rd False Alarm: $50
- 4th False Alarm: $50, Permit suspended 30 days.
- 5th-7th False Alarm: $100
- 8th False Alarm: $100, Permit suspended 365 days.
Raleigh False Alarm Service Fees
- 1st Alarm – Written Warning
- 2nd Alarm – $50
- 3rd, 4th & 5th Alarms – $100
- 6th & 7th Alarms – $200
- 8th & 9th Alarms – $300
- 10 or more – $500
Alarm systems and sensors play an important role in any home security setup. They’re vital to the safety of you, your home and property. They do however need to be registered, which comes with fees. And sometimes, alarms trigger accidentally.
False alarms can happen for a number of reasons, ranging from user error by using a system incorrectly or forgetting to provide a pass code to a contractor or family member. Faulty equipment and wiring are also a common cause, as well as animals who trigger sensors. Make sure that equipment installers have accounted for animals when installing devices.
The last thing you want is police or fire units showing up to your house unwarranted. This is expensive for departments and yourself. But how much do false alarms and alarm registrations actually cost?
Alarm Registration Fee
We’ll get started by covering how much alarm registration will cost you, since false alarms themselves can’t occur without an alarm.
In Austin, Texas, where our headquarters is located, a residential permit costs $30, and a business permit costs $50. This price remains the same whether the alarm is new or a renewal.
In Dallas, Texas, the price is almost double that of Austin. A residence costs $50 dollars, and a business costs $100.
In San Antonio, the fee for home is $40, but $30 for those aged 65 and above, and $100 for businesses.
In Omaha, Nebraska, a home is $25, while a business costs $50.
In Los Angeles, California, a permit fee costs 35$ for both home and businesses, and $30 for renewals.
As you can see, registration prices usually vary for home and businesses. For the most part they hover somewhere around the 30$ – 50$ range for homes and don’t usually go higher than $100 for businesses.
False Alarm Cost
The real expense of this alarm equation: the false alarm. It’s important to avoid false alarms, because events can be fairly pricey. The range per city, and some cities do have more lenient and first time offense policies.
Here in Austin we can have three false alarms before being charged. The fourth and fifth alarms cost $50 each, the sixth and seventh $75, and everything eight and above $100. This is fairly lenient. Other cities aren’t necessarily as friendly.
In Omaha, Nebraska, the first false alarm is free, the second and third offenses cost $100, and the fourth and above jump up to $250.
In Dallas, Texas, a permitted alarm site is allowed three free false alarms in one year. The fourth, fifth, and sixth false alarms are $50, seventh and eighth are 75$, and the ninth and above are $100. If a panic or hold up false alarm occurs, it is $100 the first time. The second is $200, third is $300, and fourth plus are $400 each.
For both alarm registration and false alarms, the price will vary by city. Alarms have to be registered, and if you’re found out to have skipped over setup (usually a false alarm informs this) then you will have to pay additional fines, sometimes up to $200.
False alarms are costly, especially if you’ve had multiple incidents. It’s important to check in with law enforcement and your particular city to find out rules, fees, and any other additional information regarding the occurrences.
Alarms are an extremely vital part of any home security setup and we don’t recommend anyone installing without them.
If you take the proper precautions to avoid alarms, including: cleaning, proper settings installed, a secure wiring and system, and no funny business by family members or children, you can remain false alarm free.